Publicado por: livsabenca | quinta-feira, 13 dezembro, 2007

Don’t call me Eskimo

Interessante… estava vendo tv esses dias e vi uma reportagem sobre esses caras que fizeram um rap muito maneirinho contando pra nos como eles detestam ser chamados de “esquimós”. O termo esquimó significa “comedores de carne crua” e isso é bem ofensivo pra eles. Aqui no Canada eles são chamados Inuit.

The name Eskimo came from the British
Who came here to look for gold, oil, and fish

The name means that I eat raw meat
But we are the people our name Inuit

Ancestors lived here and knew how to survive
To eat country food would keep you alive.

First it saw meat chi crumbles hard bread [WTF?]
They caught Scurvy and ended up dead.

Now we’re in houses, no more igloos.
If you want a drink, you can’t buy booze.

No Kamiks anymore we all wear shoes
Our number one show is “Pimp My Ski-doo”

Its our way of life to hunt for a seal.
Back off, Green Peace, we just want some meals.

Don’t tell us what to do, Paul McCartney
When we go clubbin’ we’re having a party.

Ask me a question, you might distress.
I should raise my eyebrow instead of say “yes.”

Step up to me to borrow some dough,
I wrinkle my nose at you to say “no”

Chorus

In the Land of Ice and Snow
Don’t call me Eskimo
Black people aren’t negros
Don’t call me Eskimo.

It’s all dirt here, there’s no paved roads
this place really sucks if you have a skateboard

No pipes here, it all comes by truck
If you don’t call for water then you’re sh*t out of luck

The one way out is call First Air
Their price and service, no one can compare.

It’s night all day and day all night
you can’t go to sleep cause there’s too much light

You fall asleep in school and I’m caught snoring
The teacher wakes me up and I say “BORING!”

BOR- BORING! BORING!

The store is too expensive, can’t buy a thing
If you want to buy someting, you gotta have major bling

Fifteen bucks a pack is making me broke
People don’t say “hi” they say “Got smoke?”

October to June the sea turns to ice
Listen to me and take my advice.

In the Land of Ice and Snow
Don’t call me Eskimo
Black people aren’t negros
Don’t call me Eskimo.

Lots of people ’round here are nervous wrecks
On the 1st and 15th waiting for checks

Theres no choice with no work here
Many people turn to drugs and disappear

Drug abuse, violence, drop out, suicide.
Inuit people gotta have pride.

We gotta listen to the ways of the elderly.
Its the only way our live’s getting better.

Life’s hard every day, struggle to survive.
We honor their memory by staying alive.

In the Land of Ice and Snow
Don’t call me Eskimo
Black people aren’t negros
Don’t call me Eskimo.

I’m sorry I wasted your time.

Responses

  1. pretty cool!!!


Deixe um comentário

Categorias

